Friday, October 2, 2009

Reserved domains

RFC 2606 reserves the following four top-level domain names to avoid confusion and conflict.[5] They may be used for various specific purposes however, with the intention that these should not occur in production networks within the global domain name system:

  • example: reserved for use in examples
  • invalid: reserved for use in obviously invalid domain names
  • localhost: reserved to avoid conflict with the traditional use of localhost as a hostname
  • test: reserved for use in tests

The test domain has seen usage by ICANN in the testing of internationalized domain names, a program started in 2007.[6][7]

No comments:

Post a Comment